Members of Parliament Support ALS BC’s PROJECT HOPE Initiative!

PROJECT HOPE's primary graphic features ALS BC, UBC Faculty of Medicine and Province of British Columbia logos at the top. Below the logos are graphics for ALS Research, Clinical Care and Support Services with the "End ALS Through A World Class Centre at UBC" tagline at the bottom.

Thank you to Elizabeth May and Todd Doherty, Members of Parliament in Canada’s House of Commons. Their advocacy letters to Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Health, requests $10 million in funding to support the ALS Society of British Columbia’s PROJECT HOPE initiative.

The ALS Society of BC successfully launched PROJECT HOPE in 2019, raising over $5.3 million in the first phase. The Province of BC contributed $3 million, and $2.3 million in funds came from donations from British Columbians to establish an endowed trust to fund an ALS Research Professorship at UBC. As this is an endowed trust, funds for the professorship will be in perpetuity. A clinician-scientist will be recruited to oversee, spearhead, and create opportunities for patients to access clinical trials in BC, to become a leader in Canada and the world for ALS research. They will champion enhanced care for ALS patients in BC.

The ALS Clinic move to UBC is taking place. ALC BC’s dream is to end ALS by creating a world-class ALS Centre at UBC. To that end, the ALS Society of BC has pledged to UBC to raise an additional $20M to achieve this.


Elizabeth Evans May, O.C., Parliamentary Leader of the Green Party of Canada, and Member of Parliament in the House of Commons of Canada representing Saanich—Gulf Islands district in British Columbia.

Elizabeth May Official Portrait / Portrait Officiel, Ottawa, ONTARIO, Canada on 03 December, 2019. © HOC-CDC Credit: Mélanie Provencher, House of Commons Photo Services

Todd Doherty, Member of Parliament in the House of Commons of Canada representing Cariboo—Prince George district in British Columbia.

Todd Doherty Official Portrait / Portrait Officiel Ottawa, ONTARIO, Canada on 13 October, 2021. © HOC-CDC Credit: Bernard Thibodeau, House of Commons Photo Services